Latest News

Message from our Symposium Keynote Speaker Peter Katz

A message from our Symposium Keynote speaker Peter Katz Peter Katz is a Juno Award- and Canadian Screen Award-nominated singer-songwriter who has spent the past 20 years touring internationally. He has been described by many of his fans and speaking clients as “a thunderbolt for the soul”. A gifted storyteller fluent in English and French,

Read More »

Membership Renewal Reminder

OMFPOA Memberships expire at the end of each calendar year. As we have had ongoing website construction and upgrades being completed we have not removed any accounts that have yet to pay for 2023. Our membership continues to increase and we hope to have you as part of our association. This post is to serve

Read More »

Jim Copeland Award

In recognition of your significant contribution to Public Education, the Prevention of Fire and the Preservation of Life Safety in Ontario

  • Ed Davis, Cititan International, 2001
  • Rich Morris, NFPA, 2002
  • Stephanie Gaetz, Keepsafe Foundation, 2003
  • Dave Flynn, Niagara Region Children’s Safety Village, 2004
  • Peter Bendington, Coldwell Banker Peter Bendington Realty, 2005
  • Jana Gillis, Office of the Fire Marshal, 2006
  • Walmart Richmond Hill, Manager Dave Trenbolme, 2007
  • Queen’s University, 2012
  • CRCS Oshawa, 2014
  • Birnie Current, 2015
  • Wendy Krebsz, Grey Highlands Fire, 2016

Fire Chief of the Year

  • Andy MacDonald, Brampton, 2014
  • Rob Simons, Hamilton, 2015
  • Ronald Jenkins, Georgina, 2017

Fire Prevention Employee of the Year

  • David Montone, Ottawa, 2017

Life Members

In recognition of your outstanding contribution to OMFPOA – People like you make Ontario safer.

  • Ken Roberts, St. Catharines Fire Department, 1975
  • Joseph Cosgrove, North Bay Fire Department, 1977
  • Lou Vaughan, Canadian Steel Institute, 1990
  • Con Bryant, Ontario Fire College, 1990
  • Walter & Helen Anderson, Hand Chemical, 1990
  • Duff Dell, Sarnia Fire Department, 1991
  • John Simon, Niagara Falls Fire Department, 1991
  • John Bateman, Office of the Fire Marshal, 1991
  • The National Fire Protection Association, 1995
  • Roy Phillippe, Office of the Fire Marshal, 1997
  • Rich Morris, National Fire Protection Association, 2004
  • Scott Richardson, Markham Fire Department, 2005
  • Peter Buiry, Office of the Fire Marshal, 2013
  • Larry Robertson, Thorold Fire Department, 2015
  • John Adema, Ontario Municipal Fire Prevention Officers Association, 2015
  • Jana Gillis, Office of the Fire Marshal, 2016