The search for historical facts can be time consuming and tedious, however, it is usually a rewarding process. Researching the OMFPOA and its 50 years of continued commitment to the preservation of life and property through code enforcement and public education has been exciting to document. This book will provide you with information on how this association has been striving to make Ontario one of the most fire safe jurisdictions in North America.

Research resources:

2005-2006 OMFPOA Executive

  • Eric Chant
  • Brian Maltby
  • Chris McDonough
  • Mike Boyle
  • John Adema
  • George Warner
  • Tony Lippers
  • Brian Walsh
  • Brad Morrissey


  • Judy Humphreys-Librarian, Ontario Fire College
  • Jana Gillis-Past President OMFPOA, Instructor, Ontario Fire College
  • Dr. Joshy Kallungal P.Eng., Office of the Fire Marshal
  • John Dowdell-Past Executive Member


It is with great pride that the executive of the Ontario Municipal Fire Prevention Officers’ Association Incorporated dedicates this book to those who had the vision to join together to promote fire and life safety collectively across the province of Ontario. The association began in 1956 in Southwestern Ontario. The Fire Prevention Officers of Ontario are grateful to the gentlemen who, through their need to provide a fire safe community, founded this organization.

The 15 gentlemen were:



James Fitzgerald
George LeNeve
Murray “Bud” Cook
Nels Rathburn
William Aikens

London Fire Department
Sarnia Fire Department
Eddie Match Company
Brantford Fire Department
Sandwich West Fire Department

Ken Friest
Mel Jeannette
James Stewart
Doug Cleator
R. Montgomery
J. Emmott Byne
G. Forsythe
Gerry Pelletier

Riverside Fire Department
Riverside Fire Department
Chatham Fire Department
Brantford Fire Department
Woodstock Fire Department
Windsor Fire Department
Wallaceburg Fire Department
Office of the Fire Marshal