Latest News

Webinar: Operational Smoke Control Systems for High-Rise Buildings

The Institution of Fire Engineers is organizing a two-hour virtual event on Tuesday, May 28 on smoke control systems in high-rise buildings. They have graciously offered OMFPOA members a 25% discount to attend. The event runs from 1:30pm – 3:30pm EST Please follow this link to register: and choose the OMFPOA 25% off option

Read More »

Please start considering nominations for 2023 awards listed below. Applications will be open early 2023.


The OMFPOA likes to promote and recognize the people in the community that have went over and beyond for Fire Prevention in Ontario. Please review the nomination forms and seriously consider submitting one as soon as possible.

Awards will be presented to the winning recipients during the gala dinner at the OMFPOA Training & Education Symposium.



This award recognizes the significant contributions made by a citizen or group to the prevention of  fire and the public  education  of life safety in the community.  The nominee  must be able to   demonstrate support of fire prevention activities and the promotion of fire and life safety in the community.

Nomination Form


This bursary is granted to a student who is furthering their education at a  recognized post secondary institution and is enrolled in a full time program relating to fire prevention and life safety.

Nomination Form


Persons eligible for Life Membership in this Association shall be any member or person, who shall serve this Association with Honour or distinction, may be elected as such upon the unanimous recommendation of the Executive committee and adopted by a majority vote of the members at an Annual Meeting.


To be eligible for the Chief of the year award the Fire Chief shall make significant contributions to the prevention of fire and the Public Education of life safety in the community.  The Fire Chief must be able to demonstrate support of all fire prevention activities undertaken by their department and promote fire prevention and life safety in the community.

Nomination Form


An award may be granted to an individual employed in a fire department, excluding Chiefs and/or Deputy Chiefs.

Purpose: To recognize the significant contribution made by an individual in the field of fire prevention and/or public education within the community.

The nominee must be able to demonstrate innovation in fire prevention activities and the promotion of fire and life safety within the community.

Nomination Form


Dave Sylvester Bursary:  Patrick Hutchinson Fanshaw College

Jim Copeland Award: John Gignac, Hawkins Gignac Foundation

Nominated by Jeff Balkwill, County of Brant Fire

Fire Chief of the Year: No nominations.

Employee of the Year: No qualifying nominations.

Public Education Fire Prevention Grants
Centre Wellington Fire Rescue Services
Chris Paluch, FPO St. Mary’s Fire Department
Brian Leverton, CFPO

Jim Copeland Award: Derek D’Agostino, First General

Fire Chief of the Year: Michael Cain, Grimsby Fire Department

Dave Sylvester Award: Tatyana Coghlin

Employee if the Year:  Derek VanPagee, Public Safety Educator

Jim Copeland: Robert Clark
Fire Chief: Thomas Cartwright
Dave Sylvester: Quintin Matthews

Fire Chief: Ron Jenkins
Fire Prevention: David Montone
Dave Sylvester: Jessica Weinhart

Jim Copeland: Wendy Krebsz
Fire Prevention: N/A
Dave Sylvester: Kathryn Schramm

Jim Copeland: Birnie Current
Fire Chief: Hamilton Fire
Fire Prevention: N/A
Dave Sylvester: Kevin Bourke

Jim Copeland: Peter Bendington
Student Bursary: Colin Lahey
Fire Chief of the Year: Chief Bennett (Gananoque Fire Department)
Life Member: Scott Richardson (Markham Fire & Emergency Services)

Jim Copeland: Dave Flynn
Fire Chief of the Year: Chief Paul Olah (Welland Fire Department)
Life Member: Rich Morris National (Fire Protection Association) 

Jim Copeland: Stephanie Gaetz
Fire Chief of the Year: Chief Dave Fields (Windsor Fire and Rescue)

Jim Copeland: Rich Morris
Fire Chief of the Year: Chief Jim Sales (Markham Fire & Emergency Services)

Jim Copeland: Ed Davies
Fire Chief of the Year: Chief Clifford Jeffrey (Quinte West Fire Department)

Fire Chief of the Year: Chief Jim Handcock (Kitchener Fire Department)

Fire Chief of the Year: Chief Cyril Hare (Mississauga Fire Department)

Fire Chief of the Year: Chief Dave Guilbault (Ancaster Fire Department)
Life Member: Roy Phillippe (Office of the Fire Marshal)

Fire Chief of the Year: Chief Alan Speed (North York Fire Department)

Life Member: The National Fire Protection Association

Life Members: Duff Dell (Sarina Fire Department), John Simon (Niagara Falls Fire Department) and John Bateman (Ontario Fire Marshal’s Office Ontario, Fire Marshal)

Life Members: Lou Vaughan (Canadian Steel Institute), Don Bryant (Ontario Fire Marshal’s Office, Instructor Ontario Fire College), and Walter & Helen Anderson (Hand Chemicals)

Life Member: Jay Cosgrave (North Bay Fire Department)

Life Member: Ken Roberts (St. Catharines Fire Department)